

ARO Travel Award Committee

1. A committee mission statement:

The mission of the Travel Award Committee is to encourage and support active participation of our younger members at the ARO annual MidWinter meeting by: 1) providing awards to defray travel costs; 2) recognizing and celebrating excellence in trainee research achievement; and, 3) encouraging engagement from the entire global ARO membership.

2. A committee vision statement:

The vision of the Travel Award Committee is that financial need should never be a barrier for trainee scientist/clinicians from presenting their research and benefiting from the professional development and networking opportunities at the ARO annual meeting.

3. Tasks that the committee completes annually with dates:

- Selection and invitation of keynote speaker to address the Travel Award Luncheon at the Annual meeting (to be completed Summer prior to the annual meeting).
- Organizing and conduct peer-review / scoring of submitted travel award applications (to be completed September / October prior to the annual meeting).
- Liaising with the Diversity and Minority committee to help facilitate a broad representation at the MidWinter meeting.

4. Committee charges from the Council:

Disbursement of travel award funds, plus selecting recipients of the Don Henderson award.

5. Which other committees are important to intersect with?

- ARO Council. To ensure sufficient availability of funds to make travel awards and communicate success rates and demographic information.
- Minority Affairs Committee. To ensure that applications from minority candidates are fairly evaluated and that travel awardee come from a diverse and plural background.
- spARO. To help advertise the Travel Award scheme to trainees, and also understand the needs of trainees, and the nature of barriers that prevent them from attending the annual meeting.

6. In what way does your committee communicate and collaborate with spARO?

See above

Travel Award Committee

Chair: Jonathan Bird, PhD

Members:

Basil Tarchini, PhD Sriram Boothalingam Samira Anderson A Catalina Velez-Ortega Melanie Barzik JinWoong Bok, PhD Tom Coate, PhD Stephanie Eckrich Melissa Caras, PhD Manuel Malmierca, MD, PhD Jim Phillips, PhD **Diana Peterson** Maria Rubio, MD, PhD Ruben Stepanyan Aziz El-Amraoui Alberto-Rivera Rentas NIDCD ex-officio Council Liaison: Ruth Litovsky, PhD spARO Representative: Cathy Sung