CALLIER CENTER DALLAS 1966 INWOOD ROAD DALLAS, TEXAS 75235 214.905.3030 CALLIER CENTER RICHARDSON 2895 FACILITIES WAY RICHARDSON, TEXAS 75080 972.883,3630

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT DALLAS | UTDALLAS.EDU/CALLIERCENTER

Nomination Request for the Campbell Callier Prize

Dear Colleague,

We invite you and your faculty to submit nominations for the 2026 Campbell Callier Prize in Communication Disorders. The Campbell Callier Prize is a biennial international award given by the Callier Center for Communication Disorders at The University of Texas at Dallas to honor an outstanding individual for their leadership in fostering scientific advances in the diagnosis and treatment of speech, language or hearing disorders. Please navigate to this webpage to learn more about the award and past recipients.

Historically, the Callier Prize has alternated between the disciplines of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology. As you will note below, the past recipients have been highly regarded for the years of dedicated work in their specific domains:

- 2024. Dr. Rebecca J. Landa, Founder and Executive Director, Center for Autism Services, Science, and Innovation (CASSI), Vice President, Kennedy Krieger Institute, Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, Maryland, USA
- **2022. Dr. Karl White**, Director, National Center for Hearing Assessment and Management, Emma Eccles Jones Endowed Chair in Early Childhood Education, Professor, Utah State University, Logan, Utah, USA
- 2019. Dr. Steven M. Barlow, Corwin Moore Professor, Associate Director, Center for Brain, Biology & Behavior, Director, Communication Neuroscience Laboratories, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA
- 2017. Dr. Sharon G. Kujawa, Director of Audiology Research, Eaton-Peabody Laboratories, Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary, Associate Professor, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts, USA
- **2015. Dr. Laurence B. Leonard,** Rachel E. Stark Distinguished Professor, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
- 2013. Dr. Harvey Dillon, Director of Research, National Acoustics Laboratories, Sydney, AUS
- **2011. Dr. Bruce J. Tomblin**, Spriestersbach Distinguished Professor of Liberal Arts and Sciences, University of Iowa, Iowa City, USA
- **2009. Dr. Hugh J. McDermott**, Professor of Auditory Communication and Signal Processing, The University of Melbourne, Victoria, AUS

We are pleased to have the opportunity in 2026 to honor an individual in the field of Audiology and/or Hearing Sciences, with preference given to a scholar who has made advances in <u>auditory perception and mechanisms</u>, especially related to <u>suprathreshold processing disorders (e.g., hyperacusis, tinnitus, listening in noise)</u>.

CALLIER CENTER DALLAS 1966 INWOOD ROAD DALLAS, TEXAS 75235 214.905.3030 CALLIER CENTER RICHARDSON 2895 FACILITIES WAY RICHARDSON, TEXAS 75080 972.883.3630

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT DALLAS | UTDALLAS.EDU/CALLIERCENTER

The recipient will provide a keynote lecture at a special one-day conference in their honor and receive a prize of \$10,000 as part of the annual Callier Cares Luncheon. The Campbell Callier Prize and conference are made possible by the Foundation for the Callier Center and the David J. Bruton Jr. Charitable Trust.

We would greatly appreciate your nominations for outstanding candidates for this award, with nominations due by April 30, 2025. The nomination process is simple – please email the nominee's name, affiliation, vita (if possible), and a one-page letter of support to Tiffani Kreybig at tiffani.kreybig@utdallas.edu. Thank you in advance for your nominations for the 2026 honoree. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Kelly John Gontal Kelly John, A University of

Drs. Kelly Jahn and Cornetta Mosley Co-chairs, Campbell Callier Prize Committee The University of Texas at Dallas Department of Speech, Language and Hearing Callier Center for Communication Disorders Kelly Jahn, Au.D., Ph.D., Assistant Professor, University of Texas at Dallas, Committee Co-Chair

Cornetta Mosley, Au.D., Ph.D., Assistant Clinical Professor, University of Texas at Dallas, Committee Co-Chair

Selection Committee:

Jackie Clark, Ph.D., Clinical Professor, University of Texas at Dallas

Crystal Engineer, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, University of Texas at Dallas

Bohua Hu, M.D., Ph.D., Professor, University of Texas at Dallas

Angela Shoup, Ph.D., Ludwig A. Michael, MD Executive Director of the Callier Center for Communication Disorders, Professor, University of Texas at Dallas, Ex officio