Top Menu

2024 Council Election

3023 Council Election

The ARO Nominating Committee is pleased to share the slate for the 2024 ARO Council elections. Eligible Regular ARO members have been emailed a virtual ballot, via Election Buddy, to cast their vote by the December 15, 2023 at 11:59 PM EST.

The virtual ballot has been sent to eligible Regular ARO members by Election Buddy- please be sure to check your email spam folder as it may have gone there.

Please see each candidate listed below and review their submitted statements prior to voting. For questions, please email


Meet Our 2024 Candidates

President Elect

Alan G. Cheng, MD

Stanford University School of Medicine

Professor in Otolaryngology
Director, Clinician Scientist Training Program
Chief, Division of Pediatric Otolaryngology


Ronna Hertzano, MD PhD

National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders
National Institutes of Health
Porter Neuroscience Research Center


Chief, Neurotology Branch, NIDCD
Adjunct Clinical Professor, Department of Otorhinolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery (OTO-HNS), University of Maryland School of Medicine (UMSOM), Baltimore

Ronna Hertzano Headshot

Communications Officer

Michael Bowl, DPhil

University College London
UCL Ear Institute

Honorary MRC Senior Non-Clinical Fellow, UCL Ear Institute
Deputy Director, UCL Ear Institute

Karolina Charaziak, Ph.D.

Caruso Department of Otolaryngology- Head & Neck Surgery
University of Southern California
Zilkha Neurogenetic Institute


Assistant Professor of Otolaryngology Head & Neck Surgery

Ronna Hertzano Headshot

Council Member at Large

Katharine Fernandez, AuD, PhD

Laboratory of Hearing Biology and Therapeutics
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communications (NIDCD)
National Institutes of Health (NIH)

Staff Scientist, Laboratory of Hearing Biology and Therapeutics
Audiologist/Faculty NIH Clinical Center

Brigitte Malgrange

Research Director of the F.N.R.S.
Ronna Hertzano Headshot

Nominating Committee

Barbara Canlon

Department of Physiology and Pharmacology
Karolinska Institute

Professor in Experimental Audiology

Karl Grosh, PhD

University of Michigan
Department of Mechanical Engineering

Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Ronna Hertzano Headshot

Mark A. Rutherford, PhD

Washington University in St. Louis
Department of Otolaryngology

Associate Professor of Ear and Hearing

Peter S Steyger, PhD

Bellucci Translational Hearing Center
Creighton University

Director, Bellucci Translational Hearing Center
Professor of Biomedical Sciences

Ronna Hertzano Headshot